All Things Come Together

August 27, 2009

I can’t believe that I only have a little over a week before I leave.  It is amazing to me all of the things that I needed to get done are getting done.  My car is sold, my will is written, my supplies are bought (however, not yet packed 🙂 ), and so many other things have just been taken care of.  It turns out that all of the little details that I worried about getting done, I really did not need to worry about.  Hmm, now that brings to mind a specific verse…Phil 4:6.  The Lord does know what he’s talking about.

Even things that I hoped to get done but didn’t really need to be done are coming together.  For example, I finally finished the scrapbook of my first trip to Ethiopia that I started 3 years ago (just in time to go again).  I was looking back at a goal I had written, and I had originally hoped to finish it within 6 months.  I had to laugh.  For those of you who know about it, you know it has been an overwhelming project that has turned into 2 very full scrapbooks.  That’s right, over 800 pictures finally put into something I can look back on and enjoy.  I can honestly say that I don’t think I’ll scrapbook this next 2 years.  🙂

Over the last several weeks I’ve been able to fly out to Denver and spend a few days with friends, go to a friend’s wedding, visit friends in KC, go camping one last time, have a reunion with some of my roommates from MCC, spend some good time with my family, and just enjoy some down time with the Lord.  I have not been rushed during this transition, and I am so grateful.  I am reminded of the verse that I came across several months ago.  Isaiah 52:12 “But you will not leave in haste or go in flight; for the Lord will go before you, the God of Israel will be your rear guard.”  I realize that Isaiah was not speaking this directly to me, but God’s character remains true and the truth of this in my own situation has been a blessing.  The Lord is so gracious, even indulgent.

3 Responses to “All Things Come Together”

  1. Cari said

    I love that last sentence. Brilliant!

  2. Ralene said

    I am so glad that everything came together for ya, Jess. I’m even more excited that we got to spend an evening together. It was so nice to hang out again. If you’re lookin for a pen pal while you’re over there…gimme a shout! 🙂

  3. amy said

    Mm yes. Indulgent. SO TRUE. 🙂

Leave a Reply

