Challenging

September 10, 2009

Before leaving for Ethiopia, I came across several verses that I was chewing on, and that were really challenging me. At the time, I had no idea how they would continue to challenge and encourage me in the process of this transition. I am thankful for how the Lord continually puts his words in our hearts for a purpose.

Psalms 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God….”

Rom 12:12 “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.”

2 Cor 12:9 “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

Col 2:6-7 “So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, OVERFLOWING with THANKFULNESS.”

James 4:13-15 “Now listen you who say ‘Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.’ Why you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, ‘If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.’”

Romans 15:13 “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

Col 4:2-6 “Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful. And pray for us, too, that God may open a door for our message, so that we may proclaim the mystery of Christ, for which I am in chains. Pray that I may proclaim it clearly, as I should. Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversations be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.”

Leave a Reply

