Maybe God Will Provide in Other Ways…

September 29, 2009

I have begun the process of looking for places to live in town.  About a week and a half ago, one of my CMF teammates, who is also looking for housing for her and her family, came to me and asked if I would be interested in living with them.  She had found a house that had an apartment attached to it where I could live.  It sounded like the perfect living situation.  I love them as a family, and get along with them very well.  I could have my own space, but still not be living completely alone.  I told her I was absolutely interested, and we both began praying about it.  The people living in the house were hoping to buy another house, so we were just waiting to hear if that was going to happen.  Last Thursday morning, I got a phone call from my teammate saying that she had good news, we could rent the house.  I was so pumped!  Friday afternoon, we stopped by the house so I could see what it looked like.  I loved it.  All we needed to do was get the money to pay the landlord.  So, we made the necessary phone calls to get those details taken care of, and we were set to pay the landlord Monday afternoon. 

Well… in keeping with the missionary tradition of “expect the unexpected”, the housing situation fell through at the last minute.  The current tennants’ plans of buying another house fell through.  Huge bummer.  It brought about a bitter feeling in me.  The experience of “Oh, the Lord is totally taking care of this, and it is going to work out perfectly”…and then all of the sudden it doesn’t work out, at least not the way I think it should, is so hard.  I wish I was better at remembering right away the Lord’s FAITHFULNESS and SOVEREIGNTY in those kinds of situations instead of feeling like the Lord is not “for me” or that He is not in control.  I know those things ARE NOT true.  Thankfully, His grace is enough to cover my weaknesses, and He does remind me oh so gently.  Also, I am thankful for the foundation I do have.  I do know what is Truth.  I need to not look so hard at my experiences…they do not dictate truth. 

 

There may still be possibility that I could find a place with that family…but they need to find something quickly, so they may have to take the first thing they find.  There also could be a possibility of living with a college friend if she arrives in November like she expects to.  I’m just praying for some kind situation where I will have a housemate or be able to live with a family.  So, now I will trust the Lord with all of my heart, and lean not on my own understanding.  I will wait in hopeful anticipation for what He will do.  He IS taking care of it.

 

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” –Rom 12:12

Leave a Reply

