Ethiopian Wedding

November 12, 2009

When I was here in Ethiopia three and half years ago, I had a friend named Nebiyu. He is one of the ministers at the church I was going to, and he introduced me to his fiancé, G.G. (that’s his nickname for her, meaning God’s Gift). Shortly after I left, Nebiyu went to Kenya for school. He was there for about 3 years, and returned shortly before I returned back here. I saw him when I first arrived here, and I asked him if he and G.G. would be getting married soon. 3 years, after all, is a really long time to be engaged. He said he wasn’t sure, maybe another year or so. I said, “What?!? Surely you’re not going to wait that long!” He just left it at that. Then, the other day I got a call from him. He said, “Jess, can we have a meeting? I have something new to talk to you about.” I agreed, and when we met he told me I had to guess what the news was. I said, “You’re getting married.” Sure enough, they will get married at the beginning of May. Then, he proceeded to ask me if I wanted to be a bridesmaid! I’ve not even been to an Ethiopian wedding yet, and now I get to be IN one. So excited about this.

Leave a Reply

