Here Comes the Bridesmaid

April 1, 2010

I wrote a while back ago about being invited to be a bridesmaid in an Ethiopian wedding.  The wedding is soon approaching.  Actually, I will arrive back to Ethiopia from Kenya late Saturday night (Apr 17th), and then I go straight to the bride’s house to begin getting ready.  The wedding will be on Sunday…yikes!  Since I am going to be gone the 2 weeks leading up to the wedding, we have had to make sure everything is done and ready for me for when I get back.  In all the preparation, I have noticed many of the differences of being a bridesmaid in America, and being one here.  First, the bridesmaids usually rent their dresses, and the groomsmen have to buy their suits, which is exactly opposite of what we usually do in the states.  Also, we as bridesmaids have a lot more say in some of the decisions being made.  It has been so interesting to me.  When they have asked for my opinion about things like where to have the reception and about what dresses to wear, I have been saying “I’ll do whatever you want me to do and wear whatever you want me to wear.  It’s your wedding.”  I think they actually appreciate my passivity.  Usually the bridesmaids can get pretty opinionated.  Apparently, the reasoning behind the bridesmaids having so much “say” is that it is their day to show off and shine as single women.  So, they have the opportunity to choose (together) what dresses to wear, what shoes, what earrings, etc….  There’s even a saying, “When there’s a wedding, there are a lot of little weddings.”  I really don’t care to be a part of the “meat market”, I just want to support my friends who are getting married.  So, here’s to a new cultural experience!   😉

Leave a Reply

