Just Around the Corner

April 1, 2010

When I was in language school, each day on my way there, I walked by a compound just down the road.  In this compound, there is a really nice house being built.  Then, right next to the nice house there is a little tin shack that a family lives in.  This family is taking care of the compound while the house is being built.  I think too, that they wash others’ laundry.  There is one lady (not sure if she is married or not), and she has 3 children.  Ashinafee, a 6 year old boy, is the youngest.  Then, there is Alemitu, a girl who is maybe one or two years older, and finally Bertech (I think).  I would guess that she is around 10-12 years old.  Every day I walked by on my way to school, we would all say hello to each other, and they would wave with both hands lifted high in the air, in the same way you would if you were trying to flag down an airplane.  It just melted my heart.  I have noticed that these children were not going to school.  It is so hard for me to see that, and I really have a heart to figure out how to help this family in a way that empowers them, and encourages them.  I don’t want to just throw money at them, and tell them to get those kids into school.  I’m not convinced that would be all that helpful.  Don’t get me wrong, I want to help them to have an opportunity to go to school, but I think there’s a lot more to it than that.  I want hope and dignity for them.  I’ve really been praying for wisdom in how to handle the situation.  I’ve felt prompted to just go over there and begin building relationships with them.  The challenge with that is that they mostly speak Oromifa (a language I don’t know), and not Amharic (which is the language I’m learning).  Both the mom and the oldest daughter seem to know some Amharic, so that is definitely helpful.  Last week, my friend, Werku, and I went over for the first time and took some UNO cards with us.  We were able to teach them the basics of UNO, which is great, because it also teaches them numbers and colors.  We really had a good time, and I told them we would come back soon and play again.  Please be praying with me for the Lord’s guidance in this.  I am so excited for this opportunity to love on them.

Leave a Reply

